Set of 5 notes - 10c, 20c, 50c, $1 and $2


The Principality of Hutt River, often referred to by its former name, the Hutt River Province, is a micronation in Australia. The principality claims to be an independent sovereign state founded on 21 April 1970. The territory is located 517 km (354 mi) north of Perth, near the town of Northampton in the state of Western Australia. It has an area of 75 square kilometres (29 sq mi), making it larger than several independent countries. It is not recognised as a country by the Australian Government or any other national government, and the High Court of Australia and Supreme Court of Western Australia have rejected submissions arguing that it is not subject to Australian laws. The Principality is a regional tourist attraction and issues its own currency, stamps and passports (which are not recognised by the Australian Government or any other government). The micronation was founded on 21 April 1970 when Leonard Casley declared his farm to be an independent country, the Hutt River Province. He attempted to secede from Australia over a dispute concerning wheat production quotas. A few years later, Casley began styling himself 'Prince Leonard' and granting family members royal titles, although he did not include the word "principality" in his country's official name until 2006. In February 2017 at the age of 91 and after ruling for 45 years, Prince Leonard abdicated the throne in favour of his youngest son, Prince Graeme. In June 2017, Prince Leonard was ordered by the Supreme Court of Western Australia to pay $2.7 million unpaid tax, and Prince Wayne was ordered to pay $242,000 unpaid tax.

Hutt River - set of 5 notes


    British Transition Town Money & Micronation Banknotes and Currency